Posted in Uncategorized

777 Introducing writer Dena Rogers

image

So at long last the 777 fest starts. I’d like to introduce you to romance writer, Dena Rogers

Dena can you tell me a little about your latest book?

Drive Me Sane is a second chance romance of army veteran Sera, who’s battling PTSD after an accident in Afghanistan. She reunites with her former fiancé, Tyler, who’s an up and coming country music artist. Both end up back in their hometown after finding out living their dreams isn’t always as easy as it looks. Sera is a little feisty, outspoken and quick tempered, while Tyler is the sensible one in the relationship. For the most part, he’s calm and collected. He uses his music as an outlet for his struggles, but he finds that there is only so much one can take.

And how did you get into writing?

I’ve doodled and plotted out stories in my head for as long as I can remember. About ten years ago I sat down and started writing my first book. To this day, it’s still sitting on my laptop and will probably be there forever. I won’t tell you that I’ve written continuously for the last ten years. At different times, things would take me away from it, but I finally made the decision about three years ago to make this writing thing happen and I haven’t stopped since.

What’s the one piece you would give to a newbie writer?

I usually steer clear from giving any advice because I’m still learning as I go, but if I had to say one thing, it would be, once you commit to writing, start putting your name out there. Don’t wait until you’re ready to release your book (like I did!) It’s never too soon to start making contacts or spreading the word about what your doing.

Who do you publish with?
I traditionally published Drive Me Sane with Crimson Romance and while I very much enjoyed working with them, I think at some point in the future, I’d like to try my hand at self publishing.

What are you up to now?

I am writing my next book. I actually have several works in progress, but I just finished up another contemporary romance titled When Love Goes South. It’s in the editing process at the moment and I hope to have it ready in the next weeks to come.

Its time for that impossible question – no apologies! What’s your favourite book?

My favorite book. Oh man, that’s a tough one. I have so many. My usual answer is Night Sins by Tami Hoag, because it jump started my love of reading again after a long hiatus, however I also love anything by Brenda Novak, Shannon Stacey, and Julie Garwood to name a few.

If you get any time what do you do when you’re not writing?

Read! I do, I read a lot. If I’m in the car and I’m not driving, much to the annoyance of my husband, I have my Kindle out. But, I also have two children, who play sports and my husband races dirt track, so I’m all over the place.

Thanks Dena for taking the time to be interviewed by me. If you’re looking for that next read why not check out Dena’s book here

About Dena

image
Dena grew up in Central Texas, but has lived in the foothills of Kentucky, with her husband and two sons, long enough to consider it home. She enjoy road trips with her family, watching her husband race at one of the local dirt tracks, and a good cup of coffee. When she’s not doing one of those things, you can find her with my nose in a book (and 2 or 3 in her purse).

She loves writing stories of happily ever after and has an affinity for all genres of music, but is partial to her southern roots.

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

2 thoughts on “777 Introducing writer Dena Rogers

Leave a Reply

