Posted in Uncategorized

777 blog fest: Introducing Samantha Tonge

image

Today we’ve got the delightful Sam Tonge, straight  from her success of Game of Scones, which you can find here

Hi Sam, thanks for popping in today for tea, cakes and talk – can you tell us a littlle bit about your latest book?
Game of Scones is a fun romantic comedy, with two very hot book heroes! Pippa Pattinson arrives in Greece with her suave executive boyfriend Henrik. They visit the the little village of Taxos on Kos island, the holiday destination of her childhood. There she hooks up with old friend Niko who has grown into one dishy fishermen! Together they try to help the villagers cope with the recession, despite Henrik’s secret – and potentially disastrous – plans…
How did you get into writing?
Cheesy as it sounds, I always knew that one day I would write. I finally found the head space to do it when my youngest started school. It was like a light being switched on and once I started, I couldn’t stop.
What’s the one piece of advice you’d offer someone that says they want to write a book?
Don’t talk about it, just do it! The first draft doesn’t need to be perfect, just get anything down even if you think it is rubbish. You can always, and most probably will, rewrite.
Where do you write? 
At a tiny desk which slips into a wardrobe, in our spare room! It isn’t glamorous but I love my cosy work space – even though I complain about the lack of space occasionally!
Are you writing your next book?
I am just finishing off my festive book, My Big Fat Christmas Wedding, a standalone sequel to Game of Scones. Then I shall plough on with a new project I am very excited about!
What’s your favourite book?
The Fault In Our Stars. A beautiful, moving, funny, so well-written book.
What do you do with yourself when you’re not writing?
I love spending time with my family, reading trashy magazines and watching rubbish telly… and eating. I make myself go cycling to counteract all the snacks I scoff at the computer!

Thanks Sam for taking the time to talk to me today and I’ll be sure to check out your latest book.

image

Samantha lives in Cheshire with her lovely family and a cat that thinks it’s a dog. Along with writing, her days are spent cycling, willing cakes to rise and avoiding housework. Formally trained as a linguist, Samantha now likes nothing more than holing herself up in the spare room, in front of the keyboard. Writing romantic comedy novels is her passion. Her debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction 2014 best Ebook award. Her next novel, My Big Fat Christmas Wedding, is out 10th November 2015.

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

Leave a Reply

