Posted in Uncategorized

Victorian charm Christmas. Llandudno

So that’s Christmas over for another year then!

image

This day last week had us returning from a fab pre festive jaunt up to North Wales to visit my mum. I’ve always had a soft spot for this part of the world as I’ve been visiting it ever since I was a toddler, and even lived there for a few years in the late eighties.

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel, set along the seafront promenade of Llandudno. Walking through its Victorian doors was an oasis of calm away from the pavement packed people trawling through the shops for those important last minute presents. It was like walking through the doors of a Victorian Christmas full of opulent charm and delightful understated attention.

Our room overlooked the pier and, of course we took the kids for a jaunt down memory lane to spy in the brave fishermen dangling their fishing rods off the end in the blustery gale that descended.

20151219_100627

It was a good job we’d attacked the amazing breakfast with gusto or we might have been blown off the end! It’s a long time since I’ve had kippers for breakfast!

20151218_083327

We wandered down town after in and out of the wonderful arrange of quirky shops, some I remember for ever like Billy Lal’s! We ended up at Starbucks, a new addicting since my last visit,  or at least the family did! I got lost and couldn’t find it for a while as I’d stupidly left my glasses at home, but the free gingerbread latte sample made up for it.

Photo via Tripadvisor
Photo via Tripadvisor

We went on the spend a lovely evening in Conwy visiting my sister and her family. Conwy being the inspiration behind my Children’s book Boy Brainy – you can probably see a theme – I like seagulls lol), after which we traipsed back to our amazing hotel room (Imperial Hotel, we’ll be back!)

20151218_153210

I’m back home in Guernsey now and weighing up whether to finish working on the sequel to Boy Brainy or the third in my Ideal Girl trilogy. This one will be part set in Betws y coed, another part of Wales to pull at the heart strings.

image

Happy Sunday

Jenny x

 

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

Leave a Reply

