Posted in Uncategorized

Louise Douglas: Guest blogger

 

image

Dear reader today I have a rare treat for you.

Louise Douglas has very kindly agreed to appear on my humble blog, which although small has been lucky to attract some very big names and now includes her. I’m not quite finished her book but it is full of intrigue and surprises and do you know what I really don’t want to hurry towards the end like an express train, rather a little saunter with an sexy umbrella through dimly lit streets…

So over to Louise…

Can you tell us a little about your latest book?

The Secret by the Lake is the story of two young women, Caroline who died in her bedroom in a cottage in Somerset when she was 17, and Amy, who moves into the cottage 30 years later. Amy works for Caroline’s sister, Julia, and looks after Julia’s 10-year-old daughter, Viviane. The cottage overlooks a lake and Amy is drawn, constantly, to the water. Meanwhile, the door to the Caroline’s old bedroom keeps opening by itself, there are strange noises coming from that room and even stranger messages hidden beneath the vile wallpaper. It’s up to Amy to discover what secrets are being hidden in the cottage, in the village, and in the lake and to shine light on the terrible things that happened there 30 years ago, and that might still be happening now.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear and my TBR pile is already bulging…  So how did you get into writing?

I’ve always written. I was making little tiny books for my dolls when I was five.

I can see that in my minds eye now, I used to have a dolls house with tiny books when I was growing up too but I didn’t make them.

So if you had one piece of advice you’d offer someone that says they want to write a book?

The only way to write a book is to start with one word and then add another and then another and just keep going until you get to the end of the story. After that, go back to the beginning and make it better.

Where do you write?

Wherever I can. I still have a full time job (which is writing but for a company) so any time I have to do my book writing feels incredibly precious. I take my little laptop with me everywhere and write whenever I have a few minutes to spare.

A bit like me, any spare seconds are precious! Are you writing your next book?

Yes, actually the first draft is done and I’m at the stage (which I really enjoy) of going through and making it a better story. I love this process! Someone once described the first draft as putting sand in a bucket, and all the subsequent drafts as moulding that sand into the best castle you can make! That’s just how it feels!

What’s your favourite book of all time?

It’s so difficult to choose just one, but for the sheer joy of reading it would have to be To Kill a Mockingbird.

What do you do with yourself when you’re not writing?

I love reading, drawing, painting, walking in the Mendip hills alone or with friends or family. Spending time with my three sons and my partner, Kevin, makes me happier than anything. I do agility training with one of our two dogs at least once a week. I run as often as I can. I wish I had more time for gardening, for photography, for reading more books, for exploring Bristol and Wells, the cities closest to where I live, and for visiting my friends. It’s such a beautiful life!

Thank you Lousie for guest blogging , and do you know it is a wonderful life. Just like the movie in fact – we see what we want to see but should only always see the best out of and in everyone.

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

3 thoughts on “Louise Douglas: Guest blogger

Leave a Reply

