Posted in Uncategorized

Sarah Morgan, book review Sunset in Central Park

 

image

Introduction

Firstly I’m wondering myself why I chose to review one of Sarah’s books. Yes, I know she’s been called a magician with words but I’ve been let down too many times in the past by the media storm that follows such well known best selling writers. I wrote recently about just how disappointed I was in a recent book from one of my favourite writers, you know – one of the ones on display in Waitrose – if you’re on display in Waitrose you know  you’ve made it! Well I won’t be buying another one of her books any time soon – life’s too short.

If you can’t hook me by that first sentence. If you can’t drag me within the fold of your story by page five so that I forget to pick the kids up from school. If you can’t make me forget about the ironing pile, the full dishwasher, to phone the plumber by the end of page five it’s curtains whatever your reputation.

I do have a couple of things in common with Sarah in that I’m a nurse and, when I started my writing journey the twins were still in pull-ups. I’ve also had rejection letters from Harlequin, I’m still getting them but that aside I’m a reader first and there’s nothing I like more than a good book and Sarah’s latest is a good book.

image

Book blurb

After witnessing the fallout of her parent’s divorce, love has never been a priority for garden designer Frankie Cole. The only man in her life is her friend Matt–but that’s strictly platonic. If only she found it easier to ignore the way he makes her heart race…

Matt Walker has loved Frankie for years but, has always played it cool. Until he uncovers new depths to the girl he’s known forever, and doesn’t want to wait a moment longer.

Matt knows Frankie has secrets and has buried them deep, but can he persuade her to kiss him under the Manhattan sunset?

My review

Actually I’m a little lost for words – unusual as I’m Irish and a writer to boot!

Its not so much the story – three girls in a house with one man has been done before, ‘Man about the house’ immediately springing to mind but not like this. So if it’s not the story what is it that made me read this in one sitting? It’s the words.

I spoke at the start about another writer, who will remain nameless but her book bored me. Too much dialogue interspersed with too much monologue and not enough plotting.  ‘Show not tell’ is the mantra of editors and publishing houses across the globe and Sarah has this down to a fine art. Just like with Maya Angelou’s view on music so it is with my view on reading.

image

Books have to entice me like an erstwhile lover, but not with chocolates and flowers with 26 letters placed in the right order and plotting that shifts and changes with each page read. I wasn’t bored, I was enthralled. This is how it should be done and Sarah deserves her label of magician.

Claws was well thought out. I had a cat once like claws, I still have the scars – and for Jaws… The writing is flawless and as for the research. I know about gardens, probably more than most as my brother is a horticulturalist and Sarah has certainly dipped more than her toes into this field – she’s tipped her whole leg!

Why do we read? There’s nothing worse than change – well actually there is – There’s nothing worse than monotony! Sarah, like any other good writing magician will help you escape by trapping you inside her pages – believe me, you won’t want to escape.

Happy reading

Jenny x

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

4 thoughts on “Sarah Morgan, book review Sunset in Central Park

Leave a Reply

