Posted in Uncategorized

Why I love/hate writing book reviews.

image

This comes on the back of finishing Valerie Keogh’s book review of Murder on Clare Island and the completion of what, at the moment feels like the best book I’ve ever read.

There are good reads ‘Murder on Clare Island’ and then there’s that exceptional book that ticks all your personal boxes for best read ever – I can’t even start on telling you why Black Water Lilies is so good, and as for the review – how am I ever going to do such a book justice?

Who am I anyway – a little ( 5ft 1/2 ” ) squirt of an Irish woman that’s trying to make a name for herself in this mega industry? My book blog is tiny in comparison to others and my review policy dictatorial at best. I don’t write for the Broad Sheets or any other literary publication and, believe me this book will be examined and drooled over by the best of these Ivory Tower reviewers.

image

But I am a reader. I read 3 books a week and not just the ones publishers send out to these top reviewers for their esteemed opinion. I read Indies alongside award winners  to unknowns trying to cobble together a writing career in their own personal garrett  (2 up 2 down in Hackney!). I worked out this morning I’ve read 6396 + books over the years, and that’s not including the ones I’ve purposely left out.

I’ve left out anything read under the age of ten including my favourite book ever – it had a clock on the front – I made my dad read it over and over to me – I do wish I could remember the name…

image

So I am word experienced and, as a writer word ready – I just hope Michel Bussi is ready! There’s one little mistake in his book and as an Irish woman living just a stones throw away from what he’s correctly coined the most beautiful Island in the world (Sark), I’m yet decided if I should point it out to him.

 

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

4 thoughts on “Why I love/hate writing book reviews.

  1. I wish I could do a count of all the books I’ve read over the years – must be loads. I have to admit despite living in Jersey for 26 years I have yet to make a trip to Sark – we were only talking about it at work on Friday – I really must take a trip to see for myself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

