Posted in Uncategorized

The Christmas Promise: Sue Moorcroft


Book Blurb

Countdown  to Christmas with your new must-have author, as you step into the wonderful world of bespoke hat-maker Ava Bliss…

For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember…

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones. Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas. So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…

My Review

When is too early to read a Christmas book? January, or is that too late? October or, unlike the shops this year should I at least have waited for Halloween costumes and fireworks to be off the shelves before dipping my hand into a tinsel read? I read my first Christmas book this year in August. I know, don’t SHOUT but sitting on a sun lounger while reading about snow and Santa is all part and parcel of being a RONA judge, and I count myself lucky to be assigned a couple of cracking festive treats. So in truth I’m an expert Christmas reader this year, something to bear in mind when you get to ‘read on’, as Mr Bennett tells Elizabeth.

But enough about that, back to The Christmas Promise. I downloaded this a few weeks ago via NetGalley but was saving it as you do. I can’t now remember what it was that attracted me as it’s my first Sue Moorcroft read but there it is. I finally got around to reading it yesterday.

Curled up on the sofa, well actually I read this on a boat journey between France and Guernsey but whatever… so curled up on the hard plastic seat I switched on my trusty Kindle expecting froth, you know something light, festive and shorter than normal. That’s not what The Christmas Promise is. This is a good read in itself that, cutting out the mistletoe and mince pies can easily hold itself amongst more lofty tomes.

The topic centres around Ava an expert hatter, Sam (yum) and Ava’s ex who’s frankly one of the nastiest creeps around. One wonders what Ava saw in him but then again women  choosing crap boyfriends isn’t exactly unique. What is less common is using online revenge as a vehicle for a story and boy does it work. We all know that online dangers exist  but this spells it out. I’m not that computer savvy and this read taught me a lot. I don’t think I’ll be able to block a hat anytime soon but knowing how to load, share photos – I’m now an expert!

There’s laughs too ‘booby Ruby’, in addition to tears ‘Sam’s mum’. All in all a well written, well delivered Christmas book that isn’t. Oh it’s got all the elements in that it’s set around Christmas, but if your expecting the usual you’re in for a very pleasant surprise.

Want to read? Available from Amazon here 

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

2 thoughts on “The Christmas Promise: Sue Moorcroft

Leave a Reply

