Posted in Uncategorized

Celebrations & Confetti: Rebecca Raisin


In preparation for my Christmas Party over here on JennyOBrienWrites that starts tomorrow I’m including a little prologue as writers do.

Don’t forget my competition which you can enter HERE

Can you name these delightful people. You’ve read their books but… there will be a prize 👍🏻


I love Christmas. I’m one of those annoying people that can’t wait for the first Christmas lights or first slice of Christmas cake. I’ve always been a Christmaholic and, whilst I don’t go overboard I embrace it with a passion. Presents are bought but not to the extent of breaking the bank, there’s lots of food but no caviar. And my reading: come November I read Christmas themed books and I love all of them.

As I posted a couple of weeks ago my Christmas reading started in August this year but that was an accidental pleasure of being a judge on RoNA. In truth it started a couple of weeks ago.

Celebrations and Confetti
Clio Winters is finally fulfilling her childhood dream of renovating the gorgeous old Cedarwood Lodge in Evergreen. Turning it into the perfect destination for big celebrations, weddings and parties has brought her back home, but Cedarwood Lodge is in need of a lot of tender loving care. Perhaps all the work will be the perfect distraction from the real reason she had to leave her glamorous New York life behind. Will coming home be the best decision of her life… or her biggest regret.

My thoughts 

Clio is one of those plucky female figures that keep popping up through romantic fiction. She’s pretty but not stunning, Hard working but with a dream. In this case trying to breathe life into Cedarwood Lodge. She has family, a mother both there’s a bit of a mystery there. There’s also men. Hunks if you like and a couple of them to boot.

Rebecca has a skill outside the usual found in novels of a similar ilk in that she breathes life into words in that If she was an artist she’d be Constable or Monet. She attacks the poor reader, lying up cosy in their bed and dumps them into a landscape far out of their comfort zone. Most romantic writers are portrait artists. They are the Botticelli’s of the writing community. The tall dark stranger character driven plots. Rebecca starts with the landscape and works out – a different type of writing that is as refreshing as it is unusual.

Celebrations and Confetti isn’t the longest book you’ll ever read and it is the first in a series. It does leave with a couple of plot cliffhangers but all the more reason to read the next one. It’s available to purchase here

About the Author

Rebecca Raisin is a true bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She’s been widely published in short story anthologies, and in fiction magazines. And now she is focusing on writing romance.Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships and believe in true love.Come chat with Rebecca on her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/RebeccaRaisinAuthor

About me 


I’m a book lover first, falling into writing by accident. I love all books and read cross genre with usually 2-3 book on the go at any one time getting through about 300 a year. Being a NetGalley reviewer is essential to my wallet! I’m working on my sixth novel.

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

Leave a Reply

