Posted in Uncategorized

Christmas Party Day Two, Sue Moorcroft

Im delighted today to invite Sue Moorcroft to the party, but before we find out about her feelings on Christmas a little reminder that there’s only one day left to enter the competition. Who are there writers? To enter click here

img_1657-3
Thank you, Jenny, for inviting me to the party!

I don’t want to be a party pooper but I’m going to write about Christmas and money. When I worked in a bank I used to see the occasional customers incur debts at Christmas that would dog them all year. They could have what I’d consider a comfortable income but they’d evidently feel the need to spend humongous amounts on splendiferous presents, gorgeous food, more than a whole street could drink and the most expensive decorations they can lay their hands on.

Whilst it’s their prerogative to max out their credit cards and I hope they got a lot of pleasure from a wonderful holiday season it made me aware of how much money could be wasted in the name of Christmas. In recent years I’ve looked at my own spending and cut down how many physical Christmas cards I send and replaced them with ecards. I checked my present list and identified those who came under the heading of We buy for each other because we always have but hardly see each other and contacted each person to say ‘We know we’ll always be fond of each other but we probably have everything we need …’ and every single one of them promptly replied ‘Yes! Let’s stop’.

Then I began to look at money people were spending on me. I asked adult nieces and nephews not to buy me presents but to spend their money on their children instead.
Before you think me a complete Christmas Grinch let me say that I give a donation to charity for about what I think I would have spent if all the ecards had been physical; I give a few gifts to a local charity that makes sure they get to children who would otherwise wake up on Christmas morning without. In lieu of what I would have given to adults I spend more on those in the family who are under 25.
Writing about the subject of being skint at Christmas in The Christmas Promise has reinforced my views.My point is not that I resent spending money at Christmas but that I want to spend it in the way I feel it does most good. The house is very well stocked with nice things to eat and drink that I’m happy to invite loved ones to share. But that can never be a waste, can it?

I’ve recently read and reviewed Sue’s latest best seller ‘The Christmas Promise’, one of my reading delights of the year, for my review click here
About the author


Sue Moorcroft writes women’s contemporary fiction with sometimes unexpected themes. Her new book, The Christmas Promise, will be published by Avon Books UK (ebook 6 October 2016, paperback and audio 1 December 2016). The Wedding Proposal, Dream a Little Dream and Is this Love? were all nominated for Readers’ Best Romantic Read Awards. Love & Freedom won the Best Romantic Read Award 2011 and Dream a Little Dream was nominated for a RoNA in 2013. Sue is a Katie Fforde Bursary Award winner. She also writes short stories, serials, articles, columns, courses and writing ‘how to’.Sue was born in Germany, the daughter of two soldiers, then lived in Cyprus, Malta and the UK. She’s worked in a bank, as a bookkeeper (probably a mistake), as a copytaker for Motor Cycle News and for a typesetter, but is pleased to have wriggled out of all ‘proper jobs’.

Amazon link here

Tomorrow it’s Zara Stoneley’s turn to join the party  and don’t forget our other writers – here’s a little reminder 


 

 

 

 

 

About me

 

Not the usual author photo I’ll grant you. I’m one of those people in the words of Ronald Dahl that rates books over looks. So every two-three years I get my hair chopped off and send it to the Little Princess Trust – this was taken about three years ago just before the big chop.

I’m a book lover first, falling into writing by accident. I love all books and read cross genre with usually 2-3 book on the go at any one time getting through about 300 a year. Being a NetGalley reviewer is essential to my wallet! I’m working on my sixth novel.


Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

Leave a Reply

