Posted in Uncategorized

My favourite writers of 2016

I know the years end isn’t quite upon us and my TBR pile- OMG I can’t even mention it let along think of it. The only possible present for me this year is book shelves, bookshelves and a Kindle that stores more than 3000 books if there even is such a thing?  I read between 200-300 books a year, slightly less now my writing seems to have taken up any free time I have, even so there’s been lots to choose from.

This is the first year I’ve done this and there’s a clear winner for number 1 and number 2 but the remainder will be in alphabetical order. As an aside, there’s only 9 listed, always room to add, and back to my latest read…

Number One,

Michel Bussi, author of Black Water Lilies, published by Orion


I read this during the summer and it blew me away. I can even remember the point I turned my kindle on and fell between the pages like a free fall flyer gasping for air. The author, Michel Bussi is a French Geography professor from Rouen and the setting: Monet’s famous water lily garden.

I chose this, (or did it choose me) because I read his previous work (After the Crash, Orion) last year but that was the Aperitif, this the whole banquet. For my full review and book links click Here

Antoine Laurain, author of French Rhapsody, Gallic Books


Another French read translated into English. In fact I’ve read all three of this writer’s books this year on what can only be described as a Francophile binge, in the best sense of the word. The President’s Hat and probably a favourite if I’m honest The Red Notebook. A good friend and fellow writer, even now on holidays in Darwin (Susan Godenzi) recommended him and he’s now a joined my list of must be read writers. The books aren’t the longest you’ll ever read but the writing is strong and the ideas quirky to say the least. I like unusual and clever, Antoine Laurain has baguettes full to the brim of both. For my review and links click Here
Veronica Henry, How to find love in a bookshop 


I read this In France, I was in Rennes, you know – Ikea etc. I remember opening my Kindle and finding myself thrown in the best writing about grief I’ve ever come across. I’ve written about grief, about tragedy but not like this. Beautiful writing. For more click Here


I loved this, in fact I haven’t read a disappointing Lisa Jewell yet! Some books flow through my mind, heaving torrents that gather no memories and some like this linger and gather. I still think of this book even now and it’s been four  months or so. It’s the writing, it’s the plot, it’s everything. My review  Here

Jane Linfoot, author of The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea series, Harper Impulse

Jane has a special talent, one I crave. She creates magic from normal day situations. There’s nothing particularly special about a wedding shop what with mother-in Laws and Bridzillas but by the touch of her pen tip she has me creased up senseless with laughter. I’m sure the other mothers in the school car park think I’m dotty but ‘am I bothered!’ With a Jane Linfoot to read the time swiftly passes, in fact “shush” but I once was late picking the little darlings up because I forgot what time it was, the greatest compliment I can give to a writer. For more on Jane, click here

Sue Moorscroft, The Christmas Promise Avon


When Sue was discussing her planned Christmas book with her publishers she decided to deviate from the light bit of nonsense planned and came up with this. I’ve just checked and it’s currently number 4 in the U.K. Charts and I’m not the least surprised. I adored it. I can’t begin to explain except it includes hats, and I like hats. – go read it! My review is Here

Sarah Morgan, Miracle on Fifth Avenue, Mira


Ive been reading Sarah’s books for years. I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s because she’s a nurse (once a nurse…)

There’s something warm and welcoming in her writing, although this her latest is a deviation both in style and quality – in my opinion her best yet. For more click Here

Graham Norton, Holding, Hodder & Stoughton

Graham Norton, a writer? A writer of fiction, no – actually yes, and it was good, very good. You can tell he’s a comedian, yes I’m Irish, yes I can relate to much of the small life ramblings of a Irish country live in the Seventies but I loved this. My review Here

Samantha Tonge, Breakfast under a Cornish Sun, Carina


I read this when on holidays in Lanzarote. It’s funny how memories of books and places are irretrievably entwined. This book reminds me of sun, sea, sand and relaxation, and Sam Tonge is my go to reader if I want to overdose on things all tall dark and handsome. For more, here’s my review and book links.

That’s it folks xx

Author:

Hello and Welcome, hope you enjoy Jenny

3 thoughts on “My favourite writers of 2016

  1. Oh, Jenny you make my brain salivate! The two that I want to read aren’t available in the US. Putting them on my list for next year. Oh, they are: Finding Love and The Christmas Promise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

